Elevate Health Job Opening for Senior Director of Finance & Operations

Dawn Hickerson

Finance/Payroll/Administrative Assistant

she/her/hers

Tell Us a Little About Yourself

Born on Andrews Air Force Base in Baltimore, MD my dad got out of the Air Force when I was 2 months old, we returned to his home and my grandparents farm in Ionia, MI. Growing had challenges between growing up poor and without, to my parents' divorce at age 8, to my mom moving us to Long Island where her dysfunctional family is from. We ended up in the welfare system and struggled with poverty and hunger. To get out of this lifestyle and out of a small town with no career prospects I joined the Army after high school to get skills and invest in a college paid program that was offered. My time in the Army I learned many administrative assistant roles and learned my love of computers and software. I was also stationed in Germany where I got to travel in Europe when on leave. I married and had a son that brought us to the next assignment at JBLM (previously Ft. Lewis). We decided to make the NW Tacoma area our home and had 2 more sons. 

My husband also grew up with poverty and a dysfunctional family. As a result, we both wanted to give back to the community especially with kids in need. We got involved in our church, Boys and Girls Club, Scouting, and kids in our neighborhood and schools. It was a dream to be able to work for an organization who also had a passion to help those in need and give back. My 1st non-profit was a contractor for Making a Difference Foundation which had a local food back, assisted with housing, help for vets, and financial support for expenses. Later I worked as a contractor for MultiCare in Research where they helped patients who had tried every conventional way of medicine. I helped get trials ready during Covid before a vaccine was available to the public. Today I am a divorced widow after my ex-husband’s passing on Easter Sunday.

Do You Have Any Pets?

See pictures!

  • Dawn Hickerson Pet
Do You Have Any Hobbies?

Go to different fairs, events, concerts, shows, movies, hikes.

What is Your Favorite Way to Relax?

Read, watch a movie, go for a walk, ride my bike.

When and Why Did You Join Elevate Health?

1/3/24. Opportunity to be part of an organization that provides needed support to the community through a multitude of partners.

What Kind of Work Do You Do at Elevate Health?

Support the company in payroll and administrative support roles.

What Do You Like About Working for Elevate Health?

Everyone working with respect, professionalism, and as a team supporting each other.

What Is Your Favorite Thing To Do in Pierce County?

Puyallup fair/fireworks show Rustin Way

What is Your Favorite Restaurant in Pierce County?

Too many to pick.

Are You Involved With Any Communities in Pierce County?

Volunteered at my church and The Rescue Mission.

Sign up to receive updates.